3 year plan

330Heavy

It is without a doubt, and which has been said many times, that this is unprecedented time in aviation.  So my question is, how do those (ie-AC, YVR airport, etc) claim that it will take 3 years to return back to normal?  To me that's just guessing.  This is after-all unprecedented.  There is no measure to go by.  All just ass speak.  Perhaps I'm being optimistic, but I think things will return back to normal much quicker.  People are itching to get outside, to travel.  This is a reminder how easily things can be taken away for most who've taken air travel for granted.  Maybe the 3 year claim is a play for bail out money who knows, but I do think we should take what the "experts" say with a grain a salt. (and to be clear, I'm no expert in anything).  So what do you think of the 3 year call for return to normal?

1 hour ago, 330Heavy said:

I So what do you think of the 3 year call for return to normal?

Likely reality based on today, who knows what the end of the year will yield but .......

3 year forecast to full recovery courtesy of Industry analysts, aircraft manufacturers, airline CEO’s. The people with their finger on the pulse and perhaps more importantly the ones who’s opinions matter. They are in control.

Everybody can hope for a better outcome. But these people have to come up with a realistic plan based on what they see. Otherwise it is insolvency.

Yes, it's simply a case of; hope for the best but plan for the worst.  Do "they" know?  Of course not but they still need to have a plan forward and if they plan for 3 years but it happens quicker, well, probably easier to move things up rather than the opposite.

It's hard to tell for anyone. Economists do these sort of prediction and forecasting for a living and they still can get it wrong. It's hard to forecast macroeconomics situations that involve so many factors.

Who knows how things will evolve...