More Mitch

Kip Powick

...and that's exactly what differentiates a forum from a Bulletin Board, in this age of internet.... We're all just expressing our opinions.
Mitch.... in a different thread

I started this thread rather than add to the thread about Mitch leaving for a few "other" reasons.

When I hung up the spurs I did it with little fan fare and was most pleasantly surprised when two individuals showed up as I stepped out of my beloved T-Rex for the last time. One was Jenn, (cpfa), and the other was Mitch, the AME. That was the extent of my welcoming/its over group. The three of us went out for breakfast after I threw my security pass on Flight Ops desk and picked up the aircraft picture from behind the abandoned Ops desk, (it was a weekend).

Perhaps I was raised different or perhaps it was because of my rather disfunctional 'family' I left eons ago but as a pilot I never put myself above those that I worked with. Yes, I had the training and all the other stuff required to fly a plane and yes, I was truly fortunate that I lived in an era where a farm kid with grade 12 education could become an aviator.

I always tried to work with a crew with the attitude that as the pilot I could be FAIR, FRIENDLY and when required, FIRM with respect to direction to the crew.

To have a FA and an AME greet me as I stepped off the aircraft was far more important to me than some "brass-hat" who was only doing his duty as directed by company policy. Here were two persons who I had worked with and who I respected for their contribution to making my flights more enjoyable and safe.