For Those That Frequent Airports...

Kip Powick

This is an excellent initiative!

One of the basic things we all should do is take a First Aid course. It won't teach you everything, but it will help you to make a difference when it's needed. I will never regret it!

Another thing to consider, is that if you are healthy, become a blood donor. They have removed the age limit. You can give as long as you are healthy. Doesn't cost anything other than an hour of your time every couple months, and you will have an awesome feeling when you are done!

Iceman

I'm a first aid instructor and do teach the use of the AED. If you can read and have common sense, they are a wonderful instrument. All your trying to do is keep the person alive, until the paramedics get there with the big tools.

The AED will also tell you to NOT defribbulate and only continue CPR if the machine reads the heart signs that say do not shock! The new protocol for CPR is 30 compressions - 2 breaths - 30 compressions and so on till help arrives. In an adult your looking for at least 2 - 3" of compression on the chest. ( in older patients - you can and might break ribs - they heal if the patient survives )

Take the test, you may need to use it sometime

We have all walked by the Red Cross sign in airports indicating where

a heart machine is located.

Do you know what is in them and how to use it?

Try this video and see what you think.

If you pick the wrong choice-the man dies

Choose wisely

http://www.heartrescuenow.com/

Thank you for this post Excellent.

:cool: :cool: :cool:

My First aid and CPR have expired. I am waiting for another course to come up at work. I try to keep it current. This and Kips little pill keychain and we are doing well...