Commercial Pilot Working Conditions- Questions

Hello,

First off, allow me to apologize if this is in the wrong forum; times two if these questions have been asked a million times. I tried searching the forums, but didn't find exactly what I was looking for.

I'm a fairly recent graduate of high school (2011) and am contemplating my future, with regards to a career in particular. The aviation industry has always held an allure to me, and becoming a pilot is something that I view myself doing. I have a few questions pertaining to the working conditions and lifestyle of pilots, commerical in particular.

My goal in flying would be to pilot large aircraft, for a large airline, making large amounts of money. I fully realize that this would be the result of decades of hard work, and that flying large aircraft is hardly an entry-level role.

1.) How exactly do pilots "know" when they are going to work? What kind of notice do they recieve? I understand that many large North American airlines are unionized (pilots at least). This would mean that seniority is the main method of governance with regard to 'who-works-what & where', correct? Since airlines are obviously 24/7 operations, do pilots remain on single assignments for long periods of time? Say your home 'terminal' was Calgary. Would you repeadtedly fly from Calgary to Toronto? Or would you be making a different trip each time you went to work?

2.) How is fatique managed? In the world of trains, locomotive engineers work incredibly unpredictable schedules. You may go to work at 06:00 one day, 21:00 the next, 01:30 the next, and so on. This obviously creates problems as the body never has time to adapt to one set routine. Do airlines operate differently? I would suspect that fatique is taken more seriously in the commerical aviation business as thousands of lives are on the line every day, unlike a freight railway.