Calling All Westjet Pilots

Planejane

Hey Guys and Gals,

I am a pilot with Air Canada, (though don't hold that against me!) and am trying to stir up a bit of friendly competition.

I have made a plea for donations from Air Canada pilots to a wonderful charity known as the Kelly Shires Foundation which I will attempt to explain below:

I have committed to participating in a all women snowmobile rally to raise money for breast cancer. This foundation does not raise money for research, but to help women who already are striken with the disease. The Kelly Shires Foundation is not like most charities. It's sole purpose is to provide financial support directly to women and their families while they are undergoing treatment for breast cancer.

The foundation provides funding for household expenses, travel and treatment, plus wigs and prosthetic devices to women who can not afford the costs on their own. For these women the millions of dollars that are raised each year for breast cancer research is too late. They have breast cancer. They need financial assistance now.

The Kelly Shires Foundation was created 11 years ago by a young women, Kelly Shires, who had been diagnosed with breast cancer herself. She recognized a need for assistance in the women who were sharing her terrible journey and started an annual snowmobile rally for women to raise funding. This event has grown every year since it's inception in 2000 and despite Kelly losing her battle with breast cancer in 2004, her legacy lives on.

I realize that we all have become saturated with charities seeking donations, but I hope that the opportunity to be involved in a foundation that directly helps women and their families cope with breast cancer would be something that you all would consider. I will be riding in the snowmobile rally in Huntsville on the 4th of February 2012 and I would be grateful for any support that my fellow pilots could provide.