Me and TS

Kip Powick

YYZ-ADZ

Check-in with TS was fairly simple however the gal behind the counter had never seen scuba gear so had to call a supervisor to get approval for it to go free. The time from check-in to being in the waiting lounge at the gate was 34 minutes . I have a feeling that this “3 hour before departure be at the airport” could be moved back to 2 hours or perhaps 2 ½ hours.

The crew as well as the gal at the gate were certainly up to speed and kept everyone apprised of the fact that we were going to try to get away a bit early because of the pending snow storm, (snow was falling lightly one hour before departure). A note here….not being a gate agent I would assume that the PA system in T3 can be accessed by the gate agent by dialing in a specific number. I say this because we were at Gate 31, the International departure area and a gate agent for Westjet kept calling “last call” for a flight to Calgary, Kelowna, and Vancouver. I would assume she dialed in the wrong PA setting as there is really no point to hear that PA away down in the bowels of T3 at Gate 31.

We boarded the A310 about 40 minutes before scheduled pushback and about 10 minutes before pushback the Captain came on the PA and updated us all as to the fact that he was attempting an early pushback and a 20 minutes stop at the CDF……..the only problem was the PA was about strength 2 and no one could really hear what he had to say. On the other hand the FA’s PA system was very loud and very clear…….but again…..after the engines were started the PA from the flight deck was loud and clear. I don’t know if that is a system fault in the A310 while on ground /APU power or not but the flight deck PA at the gate was almost inaudible.