Don't mess with a retiree

I owed a buddy fifty US dollars. I wanted to send him a money RBC money order so I went to my bank…… huh.gif

I patiently waited in line and then it was my turn..

“Good morning, Mr. Powick,” Kathy said, “what can I do for you?”

“Well I have these five US ten dollar bills and would like to get a fifty dollar US money order”.

“OK..may I have your client card please?”

“What for?”

“I have to swipe it and get into your accounts”.

“What for?”

“I have to check that you have accounts at our bank.”

“Shelly, how long have you worked at this bank?”

“I guess it would be about nine years now”

“And I have been coming in here for over 25 years and you have dealt with me during your time at the bank, have you not?.”

“Yes I have”

“Do you think I have accounts here?”

“I know you have accounts here.”

“Then why do you want to swipe my card to check if I have an account here??”

“Well we always do that and I…….”

“Shelly, if I didn’t have an account here would you refuse to exchange my five US ten dollar bills into a fifty dollar US money order?”

“Well, no….I could give you a money order if you had the cash .”

“Shelly, what did I put on the counter when I came to your window?”

“Ah..er..these five US ten dollar bills??”.

“May I have the money order now?”

“Do you mind if I just ask a supervisor a question first?”

“Be my guest”.

A few moments pass and Gloria comes over……

“Morning Kip, is there a problem?”

“Not really. I just want a fifty dollar US money order..here’s the cash…in US funds”

“Well, we’re supposed to swipe your Client Card…y’know..to make sure you have an account and all that”.

“Gloria, if I didn’t have an account but passed you five US ten dollar bills could I get a US Money order? ”

“Certainly”

OK..let’s pretend you don’t know me..in fact I have never been in this bank in my entire life..OK??..let’s try and make believe you don’t know me…may I have a fifty dollar US Money order?”