AC183 flight crew fired??

Guest pitstacker

Guest pitstacker

I heard a rumor that the flight crew that made an approach into Vernon (instead of Kelowna) were fired? Anyone know if it's true?

Was it a case of airport mistaken identity? Jazz flight or AC flight? These things happen from time to time, but never to AC pilots.

I operated into YLW the next day and I believe the NOTAM said no insrument approaches avbl due to the retsricted airspace south of the airport. Can't recall if ILS signal was avbl to us.

We were in a 737-700 and I was PF. We manoeuvered visually north of the airport with flight directors off. The descent profile to the runway was intercepted and we configured to land on rwy 15, all visually.

No idea how the crew of the AC flight handled the situation, but for me, as an eastern raised pilot, i was on my tippy toes...

It was my second time operating into the field, and the first as PF. Under normal conditions, the airport requires more than normal study and preparation due to the mountainous terrain, just adequate length, and non-standard escape routes (should an engine fail on takeoff).

The restrictions on the airspace added to the mix. As airline pilots operating into primarily large airports with radar vectors to the IAF being the norm, visual manoeuvring in mountainous terrain made the experience quite unique for the typical airline guy.

I must say that when i could sneak a glance, i had a great view of Vernon and the Kal lake area...

Guest PortTack

Well like my othe posts, I was just making a joke at the fact that the old approach forced you on your toes and now its easier and with the ILS...possible complacency...again just a joke. I've been in to YLW lots, and it requires top attention on the best of days. I personaly will reserve judgement as I wouldn't want it to happen to me either.