Sort of off topic to AME's

Guest cargonaut

Guest cargonaut

Hi folks. I'm actually a pilot at Cargojet, and happy to remain one, but my girlfriend is thinking about a career change and is seriously interested in finding out more about becoming an AME.

She knows the level of respect I have for the people who keep our planes in great shape.

I was wondering if anyone could tell me where she could go to school and what is involved. We live in the Hamilton area.

Thanks in advance

Good Grief! .... If she really likes abuse, and you haven't the stomach to steer her clear, the closest thing to her is likely to be Centennial College in Scarborough. But seriously, the only way to happiness in this job is if you have a sick and incurable love of aircraft.

Cheers, and wish her luck for me.

Guest jettech

As the fairer sex in this industry I can say that it not all doom and gloom that Mitch makes it sound to be. I have been the lone female at a few smaller operators before moving to an airline and have really enjoyed my 17 years in aviation so far.I have always questioned my move to an airline,however, I actually would not change a thing.
Centennial or Confederation are good colleges.I would also recommend that once finished school,she try different types of aircraft and operators to decide for herself what she would like to work on the most.
Best of luck to her!!

Guest fixit

You're kidding, right?? with AC spilling its guts on the floor, our crappy wages (less than auto mechanics in many cases) will only go lower as the market gets saturated with unemployed AME's...add in nightshifts, working with chemicals, high pressure and hot equipment, manual labour, liability, tools,dealing with pilots, management , TC, etc

As far as respect, there are a few pilots who actually appreciate that we keep the machines in good shape (and we appreciate that ), but many think we are there to serve them. I like the aircraft, thats it. (well, used to)...