Just A Mechanic

Guest AME

Just A Mechanic

by

Allen D. Booher

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Have you ever said the words: "I am just a mechanic." I have. In the past I have used it as an apology for dirty hands, or an excuse for not taking charge and solving a difficult non-technical problem, or to justify being lazy, when the boss wanted something out of the ordinary done.

As I have grown older, and hopefully wiser over the years that I have spent in this profession, I have discovered, to my dismay, that every day, more and more mechanics are repeating those same words over and over again: "I am just a mechanic. I am just a mechanic." This negative mantra reinforces a belief in a flawed, fatalistic, and unproductive attitude that says, to be a mechanic is somehow, in some undetermined way, to be something less.

This unspoken and undefined belief has cursed our profession for the last 68 years. As a result of this belief, we continue to remain stalled at the "semiskilled" level when compared to other occupations. This belief is growing. It has become a "self-fulfilling prophecy," a mindset malaise that is slowly attacking our professions very soul by infecting our self-confidence with tiny cankerworms of dispair.

The belief is becoming more than noticeable in our younger mechanics. They are becoming more cynical about their profession. In their eyes, I see a loss of confidence and pride in what we do. When we mechanics, especially the younger ones, lose our self-respect, we open our profession to outside ridicule, especially from the media.