Ego wins and AC loses

Back in June of 2001 I sent an e-mail to Mr. Milton... I never got a response. I had heard, and I've since heard, folks here say that they've always recieved responses to their e-mails to him, so I thought I must have been in one of my "off" writing days... Sometimes I write crap, I know that. But... I just had a look and it's not that bad, and it highlights one of the chief reasons (imo) that AC is doing so poorly at present. That being management's near total abandonment of all things Blue, regardless of value.

Anyway, just for fun, here's what I wrote... you tell me, was it crap that deserved no response?

Hello Mr. Milton,

I'm an aircraft mechanic employed by you. I'd like to start off by stating that, although I share the frustration of my fellow ex-CDN employees at the lengthy and complicated process of this merger, I am happy to be working for Air Canada. 16 years ago I was offered a job at AC and I turned it down because I thought I wanted to work on smaller aircraft... After experiencing some frustration at the inability to find any smaller outfits in need of mechanics I ended up accepting a job at Wardair and you know the story from there.

Now to the point of my message:

Since the beginning of this merger, it has been obvious to some of us that there are many inefficiencies within the machinery at Air Canada that are costing us, in both time and money. I'm not prepared to itemize any at the moment, but I feel we ought to have some kind of suggestion program in place to help to identify and correct some sources of wasted money and/or inefficient practices.