Just think about it...

Guest Ben Dover

Guest Ben Dover

As an AC pilot, I have this to say.

1.) ACPA will not be there for you when the doors are shut. They will vaporize; cease to exist.

2.) There was never a “new” Eastern, Canada 3000, or Pan Am, was there?

3.) If there ends up being a new Air Canada, they will hire who they want; people with the right type rating on their license, young folk, and they will also probably steer clear of hiring ex ACPA types. They will NOT hire back in order of seniority. There may not even be any union representation at the new company; just like WJ. They might even end up paying less than WJ. How would you like to be making $40,000 a year for ever? Or maybe pay a $40,000 bond for training? Don’t think it’s possible? Anything is possible in aviation!

4.) If you think you’ll hate your new job so much, why don’t you just vote “yes” and then actively start looking for a new one? Your chances of getting a new job are a lot better doing that as opposed to trying to vie for a pilot job along with 3500 other highly-qualified unemployed pilots in a thin market with a license that goes stale by the day.

5.) You seem to believe you have the choice of throwing in the towel. By voting “no” you are screwing with the lives of many AC pilots who believe that they do not have that choice. I need this job, irregardless of how much it pays, because I know that it will take me forever to find another job. There are still many C3 pilots who are out on the street. It’s been over 2 years, hasn’t it? Just think about the job market saturation if all of us end up looking? Some of us will never find work in aviation again. Taking a risk of that magnitude without the distinct possibility of substantial gain is foolish.

6.) The EXECUTIVES and the pilots are being asked to take a larger pay cut because we are the highest paid group in the company. Right or wrong, that’s what it boils down to. We’ll still be making a pretty penny.