Retired,I was a pilot at Delta for 30 years

Malcolm

Fullscreen button

Retired Delta pilot Mark Stevens flew for the airline for about 30 years, ending his career as an Airbus A350 captain. Courtesy of Mark Stevens
Retired Delta pilot Mark Stevens flew for the airline for about 30 years, ending his career as an Airbus A350 captain. Courtesy of Mark Stevens© Courtesy of Mark Stevens
  • Retired pilot Mark Stevens was hired by Delta Air Lines in 1989 and captained five aircraft by 2021.
  • He said there were ups and downs, just like in any career, but the joy of flying trumped everything.
  • By the time he retired from Delta, he was earning $500,000 a year as an international captain.

This as-told-to essay is based on a conversation with Mark Stevens, a 67-year-old retired Delta Air Lines pilot who completed his career as an Airbus A350 captain in November 2021. It has been edited for length and clarity.

I was hired by Delta Air Lines in 1989 as a flight engineer on the Lockheed L-1011 — a plane Delta doesn't fly anymore — and went on to captain five different aircraft across my 20 years in the left seat. 

But my aviation career has two parts. I didn't go the regional route like many young aviators are today, flying smaller planes before jumping to the majors by the time they're 26.

Instead, the best route for me as a young person living in lower Alabama in the 1970s was to join the military. I was responsible for $30-to-$40 million jets, and that was a significant part of my experience and growth as a pilot. 

Moving from the military to commercial aviation, though, was an amazing leap forward for me.

When I captained the Boeing 727 for Delta, I could hand-fly the aircraft down to 100 feet during a CAT II approach, which just meant landing in very low visibility conditions. That was lower than anything I ever did in the military.