Pension questions:

Mitch Cronin

I'm something of a complete novice when it comes to investment matters... My eyes seem to gloss over as I try to read all the available information about the proposed DC pension scheme... But what I can grasp, doesn't seem all that bad to me.

One thing that strikes me as most odd is that it seems the senior folks are those making the most noises, yet they're protected by that *60* number... (I finaly found where it does indeed say years of "pensionable service", and since I only started paying into it when AC swallowed CAIL, I'm not included)

Is there a way to simplify the explanation of the objections for a man who doesn't have any neurons that fire dollar signs?

Also... I'm a little puzzled about this:

From the Trinity Time site:

"In a defined benefit plan like Air Canada's, the employer bears all the financial risks and enjoys the financial rewards. The employer's contribution varies every year, depending on how well the fund performs. After a period of above average returns, the employer may enjoy a "contribution holiday" and not be required to contribute any funds to the pension plan. However, if there are several years of below average returns, the plan may experience a deficit and the employer may be required to make current service contributions and additional "special payments" to the pension plan to liquidate the deficit. This variability can cause havoc to a company's cash flow, particularly if this happens at a time when the employer experiences a downturn in its business."

That seems to be telling me Trinity has no faith in the ability to invest that money wisely enough to get a decent return... which doesn't make any sense to me at all??? What am I missing? Are pension funds managed by someone other than the employer? (told you I was a novice)

Thanks for any attempts to simplify things for this simple mind. ;)