Flying In Japan

An interesting thread on PPRuNe regarding the legal aspects of aviation incidents/accidents occuring in Japan and the desire of prosecutors to view an mistake or error as a criminal matter.

Those who expressed an interest in expat flying in Japan a while back might want to check this one out.

http://www.pprune.org/forums/showthread.php?threadid=89352

RR ...

Very highly unlikely in my opinion. I'm no lawyer, but I think the bar for criminal charges in North America would be set at acts that are considered to be grossly negligent, not merely mistaken or erroneous in nature.

The two JAL incidents referred to are clearly ones where the pilots made errors while attempting to use their best judgement to rectify unusual situations and I cannot imagine them being prosecuted for that in Canada.

These incidents do help to illustrate the potential problem of flying in Asia, though. Over here the general mentality is that errors must be punished regardless of the reason for the error, the intention of the individual who committed it, or the nature of the consequences of the error. Of course if the error is large enough and reflects poorly on enough people then it will be ignored entirely if at all possible. If not then the most convenient scapegoat (read pilot) will be expected to absorb the blame.

Sounds a bit cynical, but is very much the way things work in this part of the aviation world. Having said that, one of the legacies of having too many past incidents/accidents is that my outfit is working on changing this mentality and there has been some noticeable improvement in the time I've been over here.

Still, try not to pick Asia if you have to have something exciting happen. You're not likely to get a sympathetic hearing afterwards.

Guest CabinDweller

Finally found what I was looking for:

(just some general info...for anyone that cares)

” Tip #3:

Submit a NASA ASRS report immediately after any incident or mistake.