Massive cuts needed at AC

Guest Labtec

It is clear that massive cuts are needed at Air Canada they were needed 3 years ago when we merged with CAIL. It is also clear that massive improvements are required in productivity.

The ramp in YYZ is poorly managed. As a pilot I see first hand aircraft often waiting 15-20 minutes for a lead to arrive and wave us in. Think of the fuel costs we expend to wait for staff to wave a couple of wands so that we may proceed. The costs rippled throughout the system are astronomical. The work rules on the ramp need to be restructured and the "LEAD" position done away with. Everyone who works on the ramp ought to be able to do everyone else's job. It makes no sense to have this artificial division of labour. If these inefficiencies aren't dealt with my guess is that if Milton is able to sell off this part of the operation the rampies will be earning hudson general wages. Welcome to McDonalds.

The pilot work rules need to be altered. This business of being paid by the minute creates ridiculous inefficiencies. Checkers and instructors ought not to be able to displace operating pilots for competency they should bid a block and fly that block. It makes no sense to have 3 guys paid for a flight when only two are required.

The shift selling on the ramp and in sales needs to be halted. If you're senior and you keep selling your shifts to the junior people what do we need you for? There are people that haven't set foot on the property, other than to bid, in five years that are paid at the highest rate. These people acrue pension benefits, have medical coverage, and passes and they never work here. Let's get rid of them and get some people that want to work here in their place. The newer people will start at a lower pay rate effecting immediate savings.