for GDR

Guest Lupin

Guest Lupin

I would like your perspective on this airline problem.....

The american Carriers are all struggling... ,one of them (or two)closing doors (ie liquidation)would greatly reduce capacity and more then likely at that point the other carriers could survive with the market's reduced capacity.

Is renegociation of the contracts,reduction of employee salaries in the bankrupt carrier going to help the industry??The remaining carriers that are not in bankrupcy then pay the price and have to lower the salaries for their employees.... its a vicious cycle... you never get ahead.The healthier companies become the sick ones after the bankrupt one restructures.Its a never ending circle!!

I am a Mechanic so I will use a Mechanic for my example... At united airlines,the mechanics had wage concessions in 1992-1993 after that they had a wage freeze of 8 years.In 2000-2001 they finally renegociated a contract and got in the neiborhood of a 30% raise.Now that United is bankrupt,they lost all the retro pay that the company owed them and they were imposed a 16%pay cut putting them approximatly 8 % ahead of where they were 10 years ago.

I am shure you will agree that with the increase in the cost of living,inflation etc, 8% for 10 years is ridiculous.

Now why don't we let these companies go bankrupt and let the market decide what happens instead of destabilising an entire industry??

A pilot will get what the market is willing to pay....a mechanic will get what the market pays...Instead of lowering the bar for the whole industry.Let the companies find efficiencies,business srategies etc instead of cutting on employees.Should the employee salaries be excessively high they can go for reductions,but with the responsibility we mechanics have,we don't make anymore then a car mechanic.Why should we give out our services... to finance bad management decision??