To the unionized members and leaders of AC

Guest George

Well, I thought I might say a few words to the 30,000 or so people who are represented by unions at AC...

The airline world is changing. Period. This is not a conspiracy created by Mr Milton and his VPs. Look around. Almost without exception every full service carrier has been or is very near big trouble financially. As Mr Milton said (and I have been saying for several months), we are going through the "Walmart-ization" of the aviation industry in Canada and the world. Look at the growth/shrinkage rates of the world's airlines. Full service- shrink, "low cost" grow. Period!

Ask unbiased observors what they think of the current business plan (Read - TSE, check out the value of your latest ESOP statement and divide that in half again).

Compare our layoffs against the full service US airlines, we come off smelling like roses, for several reasons, including Mr Miltons's leadership. Yes many AC unions have "no-layoff clauses" in their Collective Agreements. I used to think that this was great. Now, I think that this is the stupidest thing to put in a CA. Why? Because if the comany is doin well, it ain't going to layoff. If it's doing poorly, do we want to handcuff the company so much that we sink it? I would rather be laid off and have a chance at being recalled with a solvent company than have everyone go down with the ship, all crying "we have a no layoff clause". Naturally this begs the question about why the company signed a no layoff clause with CUPE a few weeks ago. I have no idea, my conspiratorial side says the company knew what was coming and had no intention to honour it but I have no real idea why....I suppose they wanted a common CA and gave CUPE what most other unions already had.

AC management has apparently agreed to let the unions review the books. Wow, that will be revealing! (sarcasm intentional). AC is in big trouble.