Spitfire: The Plane that Saved the World

J.O.

For the Netflix subscribers out there, they recently posted a documentary called “Spitfire: The Plane that Saved the World”. I highly recommend it. The pilots personal stories were as important to the story as the aircraft itself.

4 hours ago, J.O. said:

For the Netflix subscribers out there, they recently posted a documentary called “Spitfire: The Plane that Saved the World”. I highly recommend it. The pilots personal stories were as important to the story as the aircraft itself.

Am happy to say my Dad was one of 'em, albeit towards the end of the war vice the Battle of Britain.

Great documentary. Years ago when I was a flight instructor,  I had the pleasure of doing some annual refresher training with a club member who had his own v tail and who flew Spits in WWII. He told stories the whole time while demonstrating 1G aeros and when another aircraft checked in on the practise area frequency he engaged me in a contest to see who could see the hun first. The whole flight was operated at 25 squared; I could tell he wished more out of what the ol' Bonanza could give him. One of my most memorable hours spent in an aircraft.

I enjoyed the documentary as well. The title is a bit of an overstatement (P51 and P47 chaps might quarrel a bit) but it was the right plane at the right time for Britain. But I was puzzled about a couple of things. 1- The Hurricane was, as usual, under represented in any discussion of the Battle of Britain.  They were in greater numbers and did a lot of the heavy lifting in spite of being seriously out performed. 2- A lot of the photos in the documentary that were supposed to be of the Spit were actually of the Hurricane. You can tell by the exhaust and gear geometry. Early Spits did look somewhat similar but were clearly different machines. These are trifles in an otherwise excellent program. The interviews gave a unique view of the men and machines.

At YQQ last August, flown by Dave Hadfield.