It has been 8 Years...........

Kip Powick

...since I posted this on AEF.

I hope you will indulge me and accept the fact that  as we move through life, there are things we can do to ensure our health remains as one of our priority's, not only for

oneself  but also for the sake of one's family and friends.....

June 2011

I had plans to make this entry an intriguing and exciting post …but common sense prevailed so here it is…………. in simple plain language…….. When I was 16 I had my appendix out…so long ago, who can remember?

In my early 50’s I had laproscoptomy surgery to remove my gallbladder, a large stone was discovered during a chest X-Ray and it was thought that seeing I was a pilot, it should be removed. It was removed on a Friday, I went home on Sunday, was working my snow blower on Monday and back flying on Tuesday.(Airline MO was not happy about that sequence when he found out about it 4 months later during my semi annual medical)

So here we are in 2011

The month of May was what I would call rather “blaaaaah”. I was not feeling that great, seemed tired every few days. This was the month when I prepped the boat for our summer…seemed possible I was just getting a bit older…yeah that had to be it.

Finally Scuba02 hounded me so much that at the end of May I went to see our GP…..Full blood test required….result …extremely low severe anemia…loosing blood somewhere…..WHAT !!!!!??? GP said I would need to be scoped from top to bottom ASAP in the mean time Iron pills… pronto.

Scoped top to bottom on 26 June…result, as I awoke from what is called “twilight anesthesia” was The doctor by the bed , shoulder to shoulder with Scuba 02 and his first words were” You have cancer in your colon and it has to come out “

What?, Who is he talking to?, I twisted my head to see if there was someone beside me , no one there……....I looked back and saw Scuba02’s eyes filling and I knew I was the intended recipient  of his comments.