Sign in to follow this  
blues deville

Smashing a perfectly good guitar

blues deville    381

I have some knowledge of guitars, cases and transporting both. For this one to break as the article states, it could not have been properly secured inside the case. The hardshell guitar case in the photo is a solid unit that would not bend or allow the neck and body to move unless the guitar was lose inside. Also, that part of the neck has the most stress on it due to the basic design of the instrument. AC is being very generous and sympathetic. Oh and always pack away your own gear!

http://www.cbc.ca/news/canada/kitchener-waterloo/air-canada-broken-guitar-kevin-ramessar-1.4190866?utm_source=skies-daily-news-news-from-the-web&utm_campaign=skies-daily-news&utm_medium=email&utm_term=news-news-from-the-web&utm_content=V1

Edited by blues deville

DEFCON    684

It's hard to imagine any damage occurring when a guitar is packed in a case like the one shown. The crack is in what is probably the weakest part of the instrument, which may be an indication the guitar was dropped and impacted head first?

• Like 1

Super 80    153

If this was containerized I can't imagine how it happened, it it wasn't and just fell I have seen it before.

Fido    380

Not air pressure, temperature. This is *exactly* the damage you see when cold temperatures make the strings tighter. "If you must check your instrument, loosen the strings first because otherwise the neck will snap" is common knowledge among violinists; apparently guitarists didn't get the memo.

This is 100% the fault of the passenger.

A comment from a passenger bitch site

Southshore    7

Buddy says this is a $4000 dollar guitar. Seeing as everybody on this forum is an expert on something or anything, who thinks a 4 grand guitar has a finger joint connection at the nut? (look at the photos). Looks like a cheap (relatively) axe with strings under tension in an expensive hard case. AC's fault? Me thinks not.

DEFCON    684