Now Making The Rounds...

DEFCON

Subject: Well Spoken

This was just to me. It is well written, for sure. Lots of emotion. Got to

wonder how many of us have that same sentiment ....? My guess is ......

ALL!!!! Pass it on

By -------

I am an army of One - A Captain in the Air Canada army.

For years I was a loyal soldier in Air Canada army. Use to fight for the

big red - Now I fight my own war.

I used to feel valued and respected. Now I know I am mere fodder.

They used to exhibit labour leadership. Now they exploit legal loopholes.

They used to enjoy my maximum. Now they will suffer my minimum.

I am an army of One.

I used to save Air Canada a thousand pounds of fuel per leg; finding the

best altitude, getting direct routing, throttling back when on-time was

made, skimping during ground ops, adjusting for winds, being smart and

giving the company every effort I could conjure. Now, it's "burn baby,

burn!".

I used to call maintenance while airborne, so the part would be ready at

the gate. Now, they'll find the write-up when they look in the book.

I used to try to fix problems in the system, now I sit and watch as the

miscues pile up.

I used to fly sick. Now I use my sick days, on short notice, on the worst

day of the month.

I am an army of One.

I used to start the air conditioning at the last possible moment. Now my

customers enjoy extreme comfort.

I used to let the price of fuel affect my fuel loads. I still do.

I used to cover mistakes by operations. Now I watch them unfold.

I used to hustle to ensure an on-time arrival, to make us the best. Now I

don't share my success.

I used to call dispatch for rerouting, to head off ground delays for bad

weather. Now I collect paid minutes, number 35 in line for takeoff.

I am on a new mission - to demonstrate that misguided leadership of

indifference and disrespect has a cost. It's about character, not contracts.

It's about leading by taking care of your people instead of leadership by