A320 Cowling Latches

Guest mmcrae

Guest mmcrae

I was looking at a post on PPrune that was talking about a A320 with this CFM56-5's that lost the engine cowlings on both engines shortly after takeoff. The goto for those who are interested is: http://www.pprune.org/forums/showthread.ph...threadid=130038 and pictures only can be viewed at:

1st pictures

2nd pictures

3rd pictures

How easy / hard is it to miss the fact, if indeed that was the cause, that the latch is not latched????

By the damage on the tail, the outcome could have been much worse than it was.

TC has issued notices about this problem. Apparently it is difficult to tell if they are not latched properly. Several airlines hacve had cowlings depart the aircraft. One resulted in severe damage to an a340 H-Stab. The stab required replacement. Airbus flew the stab over in a supertransporter. Cool to see one up close.

B

Guest sputnik

As an Avionics Tech, I'm no expert on cowling latches. But a couple of years ago, Air Canada had the cowlings come open on one engine on a 319 just after departure YYZ. She landed safely, but the damage to the tail was such that the horizontal stab had to be completely replaced. I remember Airbus moved one in using one of those "Super Guppies". Funniest lookin airplane I've ever seen.

Guest mmcrae

Very interesting ..... Many thanks.... now for the inevitable question..... Sim problems with Boeing products or ....???? biggrin.gif

Guest mmcrae

Took a look at the NTSB site and could not find any reports of accidents involving Boeing aircraft and cowlings not being latched or latch failure. Following is the only one reported on their site involving an Airbus (Human Error)

NTSB Identification: LAX00LA223 .

The docket is stored in the Docket Management System (DMS). Please contact Public Inquiries

Scheduled 14 CFR Part 121: Air Carrier AMERICA WEST AIRLINES, INC.

Accident occurred Monday, June 12, 2000 in LAS VEGAS, NV

Probable Cause Approval Date: 8/21/2001